Media & Humanities

Drumming up success: UCSU’s Adam Lewis heads to Download

Adam's band Colt 45 will play at Download festival this summer

Adam’s band Colt 45 will play at Download festival this summer

As Research and Communications Co-ordinator at the University of Cumbria Students’ Union, it is Adam Lewis’s job to reach a wide and diverse student population. But by night he catches alternative attention with his band, Colt 45, securing a spot at one of Britain’s biggest rock festivals, Download.

“It’s mad but we’ve worked really hard for it. We’re out every weekend. We spend all our money on new gear and travelling around the country, sometimes only playing to 20 people a night but it is definitely worth it.”

This summer Colt 45 will join the likes of Aerosmith, Fall Out Boy and Linkin Park at Download, as well as playing Camden Rocks Festival in London, before heading back up to Cumbria to play Ravenstonedale Festival and Kendall Calling. Balancing a rock star lifestyle with a professional one isn’t easy however: “I’m tired all the time and I’ve got a very patient girlfriend.” Adam, 27, said, “I am fortunate that my job is very flexible.”

Colt 45 sparked success when they were signed by independent record label Visible Noise last year. As the drummer, Adam hopes he can go full time with the band in the near future. “The new album is out in July so it’s quite an exciting time. There are a lot of bands trying to do what we’re doing, not all of them are lucky to have the support of a label like us. In the past they’ve launched people like Lostprophets, Bring Me The Horizon, Bullet For My Valentine; heavier bands than us but they’ve got a track record of success launching independent bands and hopefully we can match it. If we do I have no doubt we’ll go full time.”

After graduating with a degree in Journalism and Contemporary Music from the University of Liverpool, Adam returned to his hometown of Carlisle and found a job at the local newspaper, The News and Star. “I’m pleased to say I’m still employed by them now, six years later, albeit in a freelance capacity. For the last four years I’ve had a weekly column in the newspaper and also in two monthly magazines, Carlisle Living and Cumbria Life.

“My columns are about local music, musicians and touring bands that are coming through. When Radio One had the Big Weekend here I got to interview Dave Grohl and Lady Gaga’s press agent. It’s taken me to places I never expected it to. I know I’m not setting the world on fire by having a weekly column in a local newspaper, but it definitely serves my interests well. Coupled with the work I now do at the University it’s a really good mix.

“I am pleased at this stage of my career. I realise it is down to hard work and the ability to stick at it. I am committed and inspired working at the UCSU.”

Adam outside the Brampton Road UCSU office

Adam outside the Brampton Road UCSU office

Adam started at the Students’ Union two years ago and has overseen all external and internal communications, social media operations and student engagement strategies. “I like the elections.” He said, “They can be a big pain because there are lots of different candidates, who’ve all got different manifestos but the whole process is quite exciting. I like the fact that the Students’ Union is led by the will of the students who vote for Sabbatical Officers who are going to represent them.”

Drumming his way around the country, Adam will be on tour with Colt 45 throughout August after their album launches on the 9th. Adam adds: “Hopefully when the album is out it will lead to much more touring.”

Leave a comment